HomeLocalGono, Tomana Last Hurdles – Tsvangirai

Gono, Tomana Last Hurdles – Tsvangirai

PRIME Minister Morgan Tsvangirai yesterday said principals in the inclusive government had reached an agreement on the outstanding issues of the global political agreement (GPA) except the reappointment of Reserve Bank governor Gideon Gono and the hiring of Attorney-General Johannes Tomana.

The dispute over Gono and Tomana, Tsvangirai said at a press conference in the capital, would be resolved through the intervention of Sadc, the guarantor of the GPA.

The principals – Tsvangirai, President Robert Mugabe and deputy Prime Minister Arthur Mutambara – reached agreement on the appointment of provincial governors, permanent secretaries, ambassadors and the swearing in of MDC-T treasurer-general Roy Bennett as deputy Agriculture minister.

Tsvangirai said the negotiations on the outstanding issues were a “slow and frustrating process”.

Gono and Tomana’s appointments, Tsvangirai said, were in breach of the memorandum of understanding and the GPA the three principals signed last year.

“In light of the above, and the fact that there is a deadlock on the status of the two individuals (Gono and Tomana) in question, the principals, with the support of our parties, will now refer this matter to Sadc as the guarantors of the GPA. We trust that Sadc will deal with this matter with the urgency that it requires,” Tsvangirai said.

He said he would make a “civil” move by also sending a copy of his letter to Sadc to Mugabe.

Tsvangirai said the principals agreed that MDC-T would have five provincial governors, Zanu PF four and MDC-M one, adding that they had also come up with a formula to compensate the six Zanu PF governors whose terms were terminated.

The MDC-T has since appointed its governors. James Makore was appointed to replace Harare Metropolitan governor David Karimanzira and Seiso Moyo to replace Bulawayo metropolitan governor Cain Mathema. Former MDC-T Women’s Assembly chairperson and national council member Lucia Matibenga is now the governor of Masvingo, taking over from Titus Maluleke.

Hwange East legislator Tose Sansole will replace Thokozile Mathuthu as Matabeleland North governor and losing candidate for Buhera North Julius Magaramombe will replace Christopher Mushowe in Manicaland.
Zanu PF retains governors in the three Mashonaland provinces and the Midlands, while the MDC will have a governor in Matabeleland South.

On the issue of permanent secretaries, Tsvangirai said a six-member cabinet executive committee comprising Mugabe and his two deputies and the Prime Minister and his two deputies, agreed to hold the appointment of the current office bearers based on “experience and qualifications”.

“We do not believe that civil servants should be appointed on a partisan basis, so there will be no civil servant from the MDC or Zanu PF. Any civil servant who participates in partisan politics will have no place in our public service, and I urge the Minister of Public Service to ensure that appropriate measures are put in place to that effect,” Tsvangirai said.

The MDC leader also said the principals had agreed on the appointments of diplomats adding that five nominees from the MDC formations would fill the vacant diplomatic posts that had arisen in the inclusive government.

“At the same time, an audit will be conducted to identify potential openings for new ambassadors. These new appointments will be filled using a formula to be agreed upon. In the meantime, there are five ambassadorial posts vacant which will be filled by the two MDC formations in the following ratio: MDC-T 4, MDC-M 1”, he said.

Following contention over the subtraction of the communication department from the Information Communications ministry headed by MDC-T spokesperson Nelson Chamisa, the principals agreed to “share the functions of the communications portfolio” among three ministries.

“Specifically, the Ministry of Information Communication Technology will retain its responsibility over the Posts and Telecommunications Act, Potraz, TelOne, NetOne and ZimPost.

“The Ministry of Media Information and Publicity will oversee the Broadcasting Act and Transmedia; and the Ministry of Transport and Infrastructural Development will be responsible for the Interception of Communications Act.”

Mugabe, Tsvangirai and Mutambara also agreed to swear in Bennett as deputy minister at a day yet to be announced.


Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading