HomeSportMubaiwa, Phiri square-off today

Mubaiwa, Phiri square-off today

DYNAMOS chairman Keni Mubaiwa will be hoping for victory on two fronts this afternoon as he takes on Twine Phiri for the Premier Soccer League chairmanship, while his side engage the Democratic Republic of Congo’s AS Vita in a sink or swim CAF Champions League match today.


Highlanders chairman Peter Dube has already been elected vice chairman uncontested.

It has been a turbulent week for Mubaiwa as his club was faced with a player strike over bonuses in a week in which he had to round up the campaign.

However, Mubaiwa remained confident that not only would he win the election, but also that Dynamos would sail through to the next round with a victory over AS Vita in DRC.

“We are expecting to win 2-0 tomorrow. We gave the clubs our manifesto and it is now up to them to decide. They understand what is required for our football to move forward,” he said.

Mubaiwa has led Dynamos to three consecutive championships since 2011, the year he took over from Farai Munetsi.

The Dynamos chairman, who already has the support of Harare City chairman Leslie Gwindi, has also managed to rope in BancABC as the club’s sponsors.

His opponent, Phiri, who is credited for having brought in a number of sponsors that include Mbada Diamonds Cup, Net One, BancABC and Delta through their Castle Lager brand, also expressed confidence of winning.

“It is going to be tough but I will win the contest. Clubs are aware of what I have achieved. The idea is to consolidate what we have as well as looking for new sponsors. We also have a new tournament which we will announce soon after the elections,” he said.

All of the country’s 16 clubs: Dynamos, Highlanders, CAPS United, Hwange, Chapungu, Bantu Rovers, How Mine, ZPC Kariba, Chiredzi FC, Shabanie Mine, Harare City, Triangle, Black Rhinos, FC Platinum, Chicken Inn and Buffaloes will be voting.

Meanwhile, Wilbert Rambanepasi shocked former chairman Tamba Munemo and Celestino Benza to land the Northern Region Women’s Football league chairmanship.

Rambanepasi polled 18 votes while Munemo could only manage five votes. In the Central, Eastern, and Southern Region Beaullar Msara, Rosemary Muzvidziwa, and Chimundiya Takundwa were elected unopposed.

Zifa spokesperson Xolisani Gwesela confirmed the results.

The national elections which will pit incumbent chairperson Mavis Gumbo and Miriam Sibanda will be held on Saturday.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

NewsDay Zimbabwe will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.