HomeSportTriathlon Zimbabwe names team for South African championships

Triathlon Zimbabwe names team for South African championships

TRIATHLON Zimbabwe has announced a 20-member team of junior and youth athletes to take part in the South African Triathlon Championships next month.


This year’s edition of the South African Triathlon Championships will take place at the Aldam Estate just outside Free State, Bloemfontein on March 19.

Zimbabwean triathletes will be hoping to do well in South Africa ahead of the 2017 African Triathlon Union (ATU) Triathlon African Cup to be held at the Troutbeck Resort in Nyanga on May 1.

Former Peterhouse Boys student Gideon Benade, who managed a commendable ninth place finish in the junior men category at last year’s event, will captain the Zimbabwe team in South Africa.

Benade will be deputised by the talented ex Hellenic Academy student Gabby Dumont de Chassart, who last year represented the country at the 2016 International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Triathlon Grand Final in Mexico.

Zimbabwe team:

Under-19 Boys — Gideon Benade (captain), Alex Colegrave (Hellenic Academy)

Under-17 Boys — Andoni Mutzuris (Hellenic Academy), Matthew Denslow (Hellenic Academy), Brett Elliott (Peterhouse Boys)

Under-19 Girls — Gabby Dumont de Chassart (vice-captain), (Hellenic Academy), Jamie-Lee Soper (Peterhouse Girls), Katie Dilmitis (Hellenic Academy), Mana Evershed (Hellenic Academy)

Under-15 Boys — Marcel Paulser (Peterhouse Boys), Matthew Palmer (Peterhouse Boys), Luke Steffens (Hellenic Academy), Luke Hacker (Hellenic Academy) and Jordyn Jacobs (Hellenic Academy)

Under-15 Girls — Andie Kuipers (Peterhouse Girls), Erin Elliott (Peterhouse Girls), Mikayla Colegrave (Hellenic Academy)

Under-13 Boys — Keith Elliott (Peterhouse Boys), Liam Jones (St Johns College) Jayden Young (Hellenic Academy)

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading