HomeSportVainona to host Copa Coca-Cola Harare finals

Vainona to host Copa Coca-Cola Harare finals

VAINONA High School is set to host the Copa Coca-Cola Harare provincial finals following the completion of the district finals recently, which saw former boys national champions Lord Malvern fall by the way side in the remodelled Under-15 schools football competition.


Fourteen different champions, both girls and boys, as well as defending champions and hosts will battle it out for the right to represent the province at the national finals this year.

Conspicuous by their absence at the provincial finals will be former champions Lord Malvern who took part under the High Glen district which was eventually won by Glen Norah.

The provincial finals will be played on July 7.

National Association of School Heads (Nash) Harare Province head in charge of football Ropafadzo Matemavi gave an update of how the tournament had progressed thus far.

“I can confirm that we have successfully staged our district finals as a province and all is now set for the provincial finals to be held at Vainona [High School] next month,” Matemavi told Sports World.

“There haven’t been any outstanding incidences so far in this competition except that two of our districts Mbare and Glen View failed to complete their final matches last weekend which had to be concluded on Tuesday. So all the seven district winners, in both categories will join the hosts and defending champions at the provincial finals,” he said.

Defending provincial champions Churchill High School, already guaranteed a place at the finals, won the northern district competitions which means losing finalists Marlborough will represent the district.

In the girls’ category Highfield’s St Peters, Glen Norah 2 and Seke 1 High will be making a debut appearance at the provincial finals.

The province meets tomorrow at Oriel Boys High for a technical meeting as well as the draw.

Copa district winners 2017 (Harare)

1. Mbare Hatfield district

*Boys: Prince Edward
*Girls: St Peters

2. Highglen district

* Boys: Glen Norah 2
* Girls: Glen Norah 2

3. Epmafara district

* Boys: Oriel Boys
*Girls: Oriel Girls

4. Glenview/ Mufakose

* Boys: Mufakose 3
* Girls: GV1

5. Chitungwiza district

* Boys: Seke 1
* Girls: Seke 1

6. Northern Central

* Boys: Marlborough
* Girls: Roosevelt

7. Warren Park / Malbereign

* Boys: DZ 1
* Girls: DZ 1

8. Hosts

* Boys: Vainona
* Girls: Vainona

9. Defending Champions

* Boys: Churchill
* Girls: Malbereign

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading